Broome-Tioga BOCES awards for excellence

By Perry Russom

June 5, 2013 Updated Jun 6, 2013 at 10:55 AM EDT

Town of Dickinson, NY (WBNG Binghamton) Broome-Tioga BOCES celebrated the hard work of their students Wednesday in their Partnership for Excellence Recognition Event.

Nearly 100 people came to the Leslie F. Distin Education Center at Broome-Tioga BOCES to see 19 students, a teacher and local businesses receive awards.

Students were honored for their achievements in career-related programs and volunteering in the community.

Alexandra Goodrich, Owego Free Academy, and Samantha Zabinski, Union-Endicott High School, received scholarships for their work in the School-to-Career program.

Goodrich had an apprenticeship with Good Shepard Village in Endwell.

"You get to see how things really work in a work setting," said Goodrich. "You get to see how the life process works. You get to see people aging and how medically that works."

Goodrich is headed to Elmira College next year and said she wants to work in social services.

Mary Jo Townsend-Wardell, a teacher at Windsor High School, was given the Outstanding Educator Award.

She oversees the student-run Blue Stone Café, where students practically apply what they learn in the classroom.

"If they can take ownership in a project, they go with it," said Townsend-Wardell. "Being able to, as a teach, step back and let that go, it's a really great thing."

Townsend-Wardell has been teaching business for 19 years and has coordinated the technology/business department at Windsor High School for 11 years.

Full list of honorees:

Outstanding Student Award:
Binghamton: Andrew Jenkins
Broome-Tioga BOCES: Zachary Allen
BOCES Oak Tree High School Program: Lucy Taylor
Chenango Forks: Emily Markham
Chenango Valley: Eric Hammond
Deposit: Yi Teing Cheung
Greene: Jenelle Milk
Harpursville: Michael Casterlin
Johnson City: Kayla Page
Maine-Endwell: Jamie Flick
Newark Valley: Christian Richter
Owego Free Academy: Daryl Orend
Seton Catholic Central: Hannah Zimmerman
Susquehanna Valley: Maura Sheehan
Tioga: Katherine Shuler
Union-Endicott: Laura McKeown
Vestal: Sabrina Cusimano
Whitney Point: Andrew Costley
Windsor: Marina Seidel

Outstanding Educator Award:
Mary Jo Townsend-Wardell, Windsor High School

Outstanding Business Partner Award:

To submit a comment on this article, your email address is required. We respect your privacy and your email will not be visible to others nor will it be added to any email lists.