B-Sens rival switches divisions

By Travis Eldridge

B-Sens rival switches divisions

July 9, 2014 Updated Jul 9, 2014 at 5:38 PM EDT

(WBNG Binghamton) Changes are coming for the AHL's Eastern Conference for the 2014-15 season as a B-Sens rival shifts divisions.

The Binghamton Senators won't be switching divisions next season, but one of their I-81 rivals will be.

The Syracuse Crunch has been moved from the East Division to the Northeast Division. The Crunch have been replaced by the Lehigh Valley Phantoms in the East Division. This is the Phantoms first year in Allentown, PA after playing in Adirondack for the last several seasons.

The league’s Board of Governors has approved the following division alignment for the 2014-15 AHL season:

Eastern Conference:
Atlantic Division
Manchester Monarchs (Los Angeles)
Portland Pirates (Arizona)
Providence Bruins (Boston)
St. John’s IceCaps (Winnipeg)
Worcester Sharks (San Jose)

Northeast Division:
Albany Devils (New Jersey)
Bridgeport Sound Tigers (N.Y. Islanders)
Hartford Wolf Pack (N.Y. Rangers)
Springfield Falcons (Columbus)
Syracuse Crunch (Tampa Bay)

East Division
Binghamton Senators (Ottawa)
Hershey Bears (Washington)
Lehigh Valley Phantoms (Philadelphia)
Norfolk Admirals (Anaheim)
Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins (Pittsburgh)

Western Conference:
North Division
Adirondack Flames (Calgary)
Hamilton Bulldogs (Montreal)
Rochester Americans (Buffalo)
Toronto Marlies (Toronto)
Utica Comets (Vancouver)

Midwest Division
Chicago Wolves (St. Louis)
Grand Rapids Griffins (Detroit)
Lake Erie Monsters (Colorado)
Milwaukee Admirals (Nashville)
Rockford IceHogs (Chicago)

West Division
Charlotte Checkers (Carolina)
Iowa Wild (Minnesota)
Oklahoma City Barons (Edmonton)
San Antonio Rampage (Florida)
Texas Stars (Dallas)

To submit a comment on this article, your email address is required. We respect your privacy and your email will not be visible to others nor will it be added to any email lists.