Gallagher, Zimmer named state players of the year

By wbng sports

January 7, 2014 Updated Jan 7, 2014 at 8:12 PM EDT

(WBNG Binghamton) After helping lead their teams to state football titles, Maine-Endwell quarterback Kyle Gallagher and Chenango Forks running back Isaiah Zimmer were both named New York state players of the year.

Gallagher, who was named the Class B Player of the Year, won his third state championship as quarterback of the Spartans this past season. He didn't lose a game as M-E's starting quarterback.

Zimmer was named a Class B Co-Player of the Year by the New York State Sportswriters Association. He ran for more than 2,000 yards and over 30 touchdowns this season. He was also named the Most Valuable Player of the state title game. Zimmer shares the award with Babylon's Jake Carlock.

In Class D, Tioga's Jesse Manuel was the only sophomore to be named first team all-state. His teammates Carter Jackson and Dylan Babcock also earned first team honors. Sidney's Austin Dean and Notre Dame's Tom Agan were named to the first team as well from Section IV.

Here's a look at the rest of the Section IV players from Class B, C and D who earned all-state recognition:

Class B:
Player of the Year
QB Kyle Gallagher (Maine-Endwell)

First Team Offense
RB Darnell Woolfolk (Maine-Endwell)

First Team Defense
DB Alec Wisniewski (Maine-Endwell)

Second Team Offense
OE Adam Gallagher (Maine-Endwell)
OL Seren Cody (Maine-Endwell)

Third Team Offense
OE Will Gladney (Owego)

Third Team Defense
DL Nick Figuerado (Owego)
DB Michael Palmer (Maine-Endwell)

Honorable Mention
QB Josh Cady (Windsor)

Class C:
Co-Players of the Year
OE Jake Carlock (Babylon-11)
RB Isaiah Zimmer (Chenango Forks)

First Team Offense
OL Hunter Luybli (Chenango Forks)

First Team Defense
DL Mike Zurenda (Chenango Forks)
LB Ryan Bronson (Chenango Forks)

Second Team Offense
OL Paul Groover (Chenango Forks)

Second Team Defense
DB Tyler Winslow (Lansing)

Third Team Offense
OE Dylan Perry (Waverly)

Third Team Defense
DL Scott Craver (Chenango Forks)

Honorable Mention
QB Peyton Miller (Waverly), J.C. Sweeney (Chenango Forks)
Line Jeff Klossner (Waverly)
LB Vinnie Darpino (Newark Valley)

Class D:
First Team Offense
RB Jesse Manuel (Tioga)
OL Dylan Babcock (Tioga)

First Team Defense
DL Austin Dean (Sidney)
DL Carter Jackson (Tioga)
LB Tom Agan (Notre Dame)

Second Team Offense
RB Zeke Wright (Groton)
OE Kellen Komenda (Unatego)

Second Team Defense
LB Jake Howland (Tioga)
DB Derek Marshall (Notre Dame)

Honorable Mention
QB Josh Feyerabend (Unatego), Hunter Thomas (Notre Dame)
RB Brian Ingram (Delhi)
OE Jon Andrews (Harpursville), Tanner Winchester (Unatego)
LB Tyler Cumpston (Delhi), Brian Hale (Notre Dame), Andrew Kimmel (Harpursville)
PK Lucas Butcher (Bainbridge-Guilford)

To submit a comment on this article, your email address is required. We respect your privacy and your email will not be visible to others nor will it be added to any email lists.