B-Sens Notes: Jessiman recieves honor; Richardson explains captain selection

By wbng sports

April 12, 2013 Updated Nov 4, 2013 at 3:13 AM EDT

Binghamton, NY (WBNG Binghamton) Hugh Jessiman was named the B-Sens IOA/American Specialty AHL Man of the Year for the 2012-13 season on Thursday.

Jessiman helped organize a Hurricane Sandy relief effort earlier in the season, collecting supplies and taking them to help victims of the natural disaster.

Jessiman is now one of 30 finalists for the AHL's Yanick Dupre Memorial Award.

Richardson explains captain selection
When the B-Sens hit the ice Friday night in Binghamton, the team will do so with a new captain. Mark Borowiecki was named captain by coach Luke Richardson earlier this week, taking over for current Ottawa Senator Andre Benoit.

On Thursday, Richardson spoke about why picking Borowiecki was an obvious choice.

"Boro, for us, is the natural leader of this team and we decided this is an important time of the year and whether we lose him if there are injuries in Ottawa or not," Richardson said. "He deserves that opportunity to be our captain and lead us. We need him to do that."

"I was really grateful. It's a huge honor," said Borowiecki. "There are only 60 guys I guess in the NHL and the AHL who get to wear a 'C' so it's pretty special. It's a huge responsibility and I'm going to take it seriously and hopefully make the most of it."

Borowiecki and the B-Sens return to the ice Friday for the first of three games this weekend.

To submit a comment on this article, your email address is required. We respect your privacy and your email will not be visible to others nor will it be added to any email lists.