Dick's Sporting Goods Open announces 2014 field (Web extra video)

By wbng sports

June 16, 2014 Updated Jun 16, 2014 at 6:55 PM EDT

Binghamton, NY (WBNG Binghamton) A 10-under 62 on Saturday helped Bart Bryant put the rest of the field in the dust at last year's Dick Sporting Goods Open. This year, someone may need to put up that type of round again if they want to win, because it's once again a relatively star-studded field coming to En-Joie Golf Course.

Monday at media day, tournament director John Karedes announced the main field for this year's tournament. Some of this year's commitments include Colin Montgomerie, who returns for the second straight year; Mark O'Meara will be making a return to Endicott for the first time since 2012; Horseheads native Joey Sindelar has committed as well as Bernhard Langer and Nick Price.

But it's a field that Karedes believes can get even better.

"As good as this field is, I think we've got on opportunity for a few players to be added to it between now and tournament week," Karedes said. "I'm looking forward to those announcements. Even if the field was set today, it's one of the best on the Champions Tour, but we certainly look forward to adding a few big names."

Full interview with defending champion Bart Bryant

The best-in-field last year was Bryant. He took part in media day festivities and had a lot of good things to say about the tournament and the Binghamton area. In fact, he said, outside of the Champions Tour's five major tournaments, the Dick's Open is one players want to win the most.

He had good reasons for saying that, and they had little to do with the money or course conditions.

"I think it's because the community really rallies around this tournament like none other in golf," Bryant said. "It's pretty amazing to have 600 businesses that sponsor this event. It's really -- the local community has taken ownership of this."

Full interview with tournament director John Karedes

Here's the full list of commitments so far:
Michael Allen
Billy Andrade
Tommy Armour III
Andy Bean
Jay Don Blake
Mark Brooks
Olin Browne
Greg Bruckner
Bart Bryant
Brad Bryant
Mark Calcavecchia
Jose Coceres
Russ Cochran
John Cook
Scott Dunlap
Joe Durant
Steve Elkington
Brad Faxon
Rick Fehr
Dan Forsman
David Frost
Fred Funk
Bob Gilder
Bill Glasson
Mike Goodes
Jay Haas
Jeff Hart
Morris Hatalsky
John Huston
John Inman
Peter Jacobsen
Bernhard Langer
Wayne Levi
Steve Lowery
Chien Soon Lu
Mark McNulty
Larry Mize
Colin Montgomerie
Gil Morgan
Larry Nelson
Mark O’Meara
Steve Pate
Corey Pavin
Tom Pernice, Jr.
Kenny Perry
Don Pooley
Nick Price
Tom Purtzer
Dana Quigley
Mike Reid
John Riegger
Jim Rutledge
Gene Sauers
Peter Senior
Wes Short, Jr.
Scott Simpson
Joey Sindelar
Jeff Sluman
Rod Spittle
Craig Stadler
Hal Sutton
Esteban Toledo
Kirk Triplett
Bob Tway
Bobby Wadkins
Duffy Waldorf
D.A. Weibring
Mark Wiebe
Willie Wood
Fuzzy Zoeller

To submit a comment on this article, your email address is required. We respect your privacy and your email will not be visible to others nor will it be added to any email lists.