Hall of Fame Postage Stamps

By Kelly McCarthy

July 20, 2012 Updated Jul 20, 2012 at 6:17 PM EDT

Cooperstown, NY (WBNG Binghamton) The Baseball Hall of Fame continues a tradition with the United States Postal service that dates back all the way to 1939.

Four postage stamps that honors hall of fame members were unveiled to the public.

Joe Dimaggio, Larry Doby, Ted Williams, and Willie Stargell were the players honored this year.

A short film that highlights each players' contribution to the game was shown before the stamps were revealed.

Hall of Famer Tony Gwynn was at the event that honored his fellow members.

"It is only appropriate that these are forever stamps, as these legends will forever be hall of fame talent, and Hall of Fame contributors to our game, and culture," said Gwynn.

This recognition isn't just about what they achieved on the baseball field.

"We are recognizing four members of the hall of fame who have earned these postage stamps because of the impact they have had not only on our game but on our society," said Jane Forbes-Clark, Chairman of the Baseball Hall of Fame.

The honored athletes had family members at the event since none of them are alive today.

The forever stamps were available as soon as the unveiling ended.

The Cooperstown post office had tables and tents set up outside of their building for those who were interested.

To submit a comment on this article, your email address is required. We respect your privacy and your email will not be visible to others nor will it be added to any email lists.