New York State releases minimum requirements for concealed carry
(WBNG) -- In less than a week, New York State’s new minimum requirements for concealed carry will take effect.
In late June, the Supreme Court ruled in a 6-3 split that Americans have a right to carry firearms in public for self-defense.
The vote struck down a 109-year-old law requiring New Yorkers who applied for a concealed carry permit to show to a judge “proper cause,” which meant they had to distinguish themselves from other members of the community in a need for self-protection.
Just this week, the New York State Division of Criminal Justice Services and New York State Police released new guidelines for residents looking to obtain a concealed carry permit.
Beginning Sept. 1, applicants must receive at least 16 hours of live, in-person classroom instruction from a licensed instructor. Two hours of live fire training must be included.
Following completion of the course, applicants must score 80% or better on a written exam and pass a shooting drill.
For the full list of course topics, follow this link here.
Copyright 2022 WBNG. All rights reserved.